Key Stage 1 Tests

Key Stage 1 National Curriculum Assessments

New-style KS1 SATs were introduced in 2016 for all Year 2 children in England. These SATs reflect the changes made to the national curriculum, which was introduced from September 2014.

At the end of Year 2, children take SATs in:

Key Stage 1 Reading

The new reading test for Year 2 pupils is made up of two separate papers:

Each paper should take around 30 minutes, but children are not to be strictly timed, as the tests are not intended to assess children’s ability to work at speed.

The texts in the reading papers cover a range of fiction, non-fiction and poetry, and get progressively more difficult towards the end of the test.

Key Stage 1 Grammar, Spelling and Punctuation (EGPS)

Children taking Key Stage 1 SATs may also sit two separate papers in grammar, spelling and punctuation.

The KS1 EGPS test remains optional, so schools can choose whether to administer it to their pupils.

Key Stage 1 Maths

The new Key Stage 1 math test is made up of two papers:

Children are not allowed to use any tools such as calculators or number lines.

When will the KS1 SATs take place?

The KS1 SATs are due to be administered in May 2021.

Unlike KS2 SATs, KS1 SATs don’t have to be administered according to a nationally-set timetable in a specific week. Schools are free to manage the timetable and will aim to administer the tests in the classroom in a low-stress, low-key way; some children won’t even be aware they’ve taken them!

This is the third year of the revised testing and assessment arrangements for Year 2.  These arrangements reflect the more challenging national curriculum which was introduced in 2014.  At the end of KS1 (Yr 2), teachers are required to assess each child in the areas of reading, writing, maths and science.  National Curriculum assessment tests are used to support teacher’s judgements.
The system of national curriculum levels has been removed and the current measures are as follows: